An Intro to Who I Am

Hi there, Well I don’t know any other way to start this off, so I will just be forward here.  My name is Michele and I am a male to female transsexual woman.  I have used other methods to record my transition in the last year and a half, but with my re-introduction to journalism; I thought perhaps I could write down some of my thoughts, feelings and more.

To start, I figured out that I was different then other boys when I was about 9 years old. But, I wasn’t sure what it was. I knew I was a boy, its what I was told since I was little.  But not all things I did is what the other boys did.  I tried to do some of the boy things, I played baseball, had a hand in football, studied martial arts, I was even a backyard wrestler.  Don’t get me wrong, I had fun doing those things.  The experiences I had were tremendous and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  But it doesn’t change when I started to learn things about myself and that I wasn’t alone in my feelings, I tried to bury them because of the fears with it.

Fast forward to the age of 26, I’m a sales rep, not my high school ambition in career choice, but there could be much worse.  I was at a company that took great care of their employees and I was seeing someone for a short time who could tell, I was not happy.  At her advisement and that of a dear friend I went to a doctor about clinical depression.  When medication wasn’t enough, a therapist was also recommended.  I kicked and fought about going to see someone about my depression.  When I succumbed to going to a therapist about my depression it was then I decided to admit to myself that I gender dysphoric.

It was at May 2010, I was 27, I started to see someone about my transition.  I have been slow as I explored my gender identity.  I feel my personality is a fair mix of masculine and feminine traits, but at the end of the day; my interactions with people as female works better.  I respond properly to what society accepts as female, and I am generally happier.  I am no longer diagnosed as depressed, and despite times when gender dysphoria hits, I feel like my transition to date has been good to me.

In my blog, I hope to talk about experiences, reactions to occurrences, and general topics I want to express myself in.  Thanks for reading about me.

Michele

Leave a Reply

